Swahili is set to become the official language for the East African Community (EAC) and the Uganda government has since ordered that all citizens must learn the language.

The EAC is made up of five countries, namely Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi. South Sudan’s application to join the community is still being considered by member states.

Swahili is already an official language in Tanzania and Kenya where it is spoken by the majority of the population.  It is also widely spoken in Rwanda and Burundi but very few speak the language in Uganda.

there is a challenge of language barrier between our traders with their counterparts and consumers from other east African countries



Pat Metheny and Charlie Haden: Duets

The Missouri Sky duets were a highlight in both Pat Metheny’s and Charlie Haden’s careers. Here’s a marvelous live clip from the tour that supported that album. I think they originally connected through Pat’s passion for the music of Ornette Coleman, but whatever the initial instigation, they have made some remarkable music together over the years.

-Michael Cuscuna

Follow: Mosaic Records Facebook Tumblr Twitter